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How to: Measure Your Social Media ROI

tape_measureSocial media is becoming more and more relevant in the marketing industry.

Besides big brands like Dell, Whole Foods, Pringles and Zappos, many small businesses are pouring time and money into this new media.

However, the big brothers didn’t just throw their money in without sophisticated matrices to measure their ROI. But how about us, the small beings? In this article you will find some ways to go about measuring your ROI.

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Define Your Business Goals

To successfully anchor your ship to the correct shore, you have to be clear about your business goals right from the start. There are independent measurement methods catered to different business goals, such as those below:

1. Web Traffic & Sales

Google Web Analytics is really useful when it comes to measuring traffic and sales. It also provides you with valuable insights on your traffic sources. The data collected in the table below is gathered from Google Analytics, telling you clearly how many visits to your website did each source bring you.

GA Table

Say if you invested $3,000 on social media marketing per month and assuming your sales conversion rate is 0.5% and your average unit profit is $50, your ROI calculation would look like this:

• Cost Per Click (CPC): 3,000 ÷ (82,284 + 52,465) = $0.022 (Probably cheaper than an Adwords Campaign)

• Converted Clicks: (82,284 + 52,465) x 0.5% = 673

• Total Sales: 673 x 50 =$33,650

• ROI: 33,650 ÷ 3,000 = $11.21 per dollar invested

With Google Analytics, you can see which geographical locations your traffic sources are from, the percentage of returning visitors, drop rate and et cetera. How you use Google Analytics will very much depend on how you want to measure your ROI.

2. Your Customers’ Satisfaction on Social Media

Like MailChimp, if your Twitter account (or any other social media sites) is used for Customer Service purposes, a simple survey would be sufficient to measure customer satisfaction.

Doc Survey Sample

Google Docs is a great platform for conducting surveys. You can create a simple and yet stunning online survey form to help you track your results. Google Docs will help you tally the data nicely on a spreadsheet!

3. Your Branding Effect

Branding, as always, is hard to quantify. But with real-time searches on Facebook and Twitter, quantifying the number of updates that contain related keywords could give you an inkling of how much influence your brand has in the respective communities.

FB apple search

FB twitter search

It seems that Apple enjoys greater buzz in Twitter (474 counts) than in Facebook (4 counts). This result is collected in 15 minutes

Numbers are not the only thing that you should be concerned with. You should draw out a couple of sample updates to track if it involves something positive or negative. Be sure to react fast if you sense negative vibe spreading across the social media realm.

Summary

There is no perfect solution to measure social media ROI. Measurements vary according to the company’s objective and what was presented were some generic ways to measure common objectives.

Do not follow the methods blindly. Alter it to suit your needs.

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About Willis Wee

Co-founder of Penn Olson who is also an entrepreneur since 2005. He has had experience in crafting social media strategies for organizations such as Marriott Vacation Club, James Cook University, Reach Singapore and Unilever. Contact him at willis[at]penn-olson[dot]com

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  • http://www.penn-olson.com/2009/08/24/5-common-mistakes-when-measuring-social-media-roi/ Penn Olson – 5 Common Mistakes When Measuring Social Media ROI

    [...] mistake you can make in social media marketing is failure to measure these returns. We have seen how to measure social media ROI but what are some of the common mistakes that people make when measuring social media [...]

  • strategic_growth_advisors

    This is one timely information almost everyone who is into business — and at the same time is fascinated with social media — will find very useful and can easily relate to.

    With the concrete examples of social media ROI measurement you have provided, I think most online marketers will now want to join the bandwagon!

    Keep those posts coming!

  • http://twitter.com/williswee Willis Wee

    will do. thanks! :)

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